My favorite Thanksgiving dish

Dead Rats in Butter.
Yep, that’s my favorite thanksgiving dish.

It’s a simple recipe.  Idaho potatoes cut very thin (I use a Cuisinart) with the skins left on, a pound of butter melted and poured over the top. Then chives and a lot of kosher salt sprinkled on top. Bake at 400 for an hour. Super easy and DELISH!!!!

My mom has made this every year for as long as I can remember. Why do we call it Dead rats in butter? About 20 years ago at a Thanksgiving dinner my Uncle Fred asked my mom how she got potatoes to taste so good. My father said “You put this much butter on dead rats and they will taste good”. Whenever Thanksgiving rolls around my girls always ask “You are making dead rats right?”.  Its their favorite dish too.

~Chanel

2006November3 001

2 thoughts on “My favorite Thanksgiving dish

Leave a comment